Free Hogg

02.17.06

Word of the Day: Webtop.

Filed under: Web Apps — Hogg @ 8:24 am

Maybe I’ve been sleeping, but I saw this word for the first time today on GigerBlog and I like it. Webtop. The web as a desktop.

I love the way the latest innovations on the web are making the web into a platform. Right now, the only software I use on a regular basis are Firefox and OpenOffice.org (and that’s only when I’m at home). I carry a copy of Portable Firefox on my thumb drive and from there I can access my photos at Flickr, my music at Pandora, my bookmarks at del.icio.us, my files at box.net (I got an early beta invite so look for a review soon!), my e-mail at Gmail, my calendar at CalendarHub, my to-do list at voo2do, my IM at meebo and Gmail, my feed reader at Bloglines, and if I can’t get my hands on OpenOffice.org, I can go to ThinkFree Office Online.

Call it the “Web 2.0” or don’t. But whatever you call it, I love it.

technorati tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

