Free Hogg

05.22.06

Why spam?

Filed under: Weblogs — Hogg @ 11:05 am

Ever since I’ve had my own e-mail address I’ve known about spam. And now that I have my own blog, I’ve learned about comment spam. And just recently I’ve encountered a new kind of spam, trackback spam. A site called Centplus.com (Scoble has been having issues with them too) has been linking to a post I wrote about Apple a while back.

What is the benefit from this spam? Maybe I’m just naive, but I don’t get it. How could someone make money (which to me could be the only logical reason for spamming in the first place) by linking to other people’s blogs? I have heard of stealing content, but this splog links to the sites it takes the content from. Who knows?

And on that same note, why would you continue to spam e-mail and blog comments? Unless there are just a bunch of idiots still running around that I am missing, people aren’t falling for an e-mail talking about how to get the best v1agr@ alternative. I don’t know. Maybe I’m missing the point.

If you’re a spammer, stop. No one likes you or what you’re doing and you’re no longer successful. So find something worthwhile to do with your time.

Technorati technorati tags: , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. i don’t like to tell you but spammers earn quite a lot money by this. A common way for spammers is to have many websites (like 50.000-100.000) . These sites are optimized for only one or two keywords and the spammer tries to get these pages a nice google rank for these particular keywords. And since google uses links as a tool to measure the importance of a site, you come into the game 🙂

    Because lots of people show their referers on their frontpage this is what the spammers try to achieve. With a lot of high quality links, their sites rank very high on google and so they draw visitors to their homepage, mostly containing only a lot of ads.

    When you have only 10 pages like that, you will earn almost nothing… these people use customized wordpress installations or automized blogger.com installations to produce their pages.

    Comment by lars — 07.10.06 @ 10:48 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

