Free Hogg

12.27.06

A Few of My Favorite Things on the Web 2006

Filed under: del.icio.us, e-mail, Feeds, Google, Music, Photos, Search, Web, Web Apps, Weblogs, Wikis, Yahoo! — Hogg @ 7:17 pm

Last year I made a list of all of my favorite web-based things and a few non-web-based things and it was a pretty big hit. So here’s the 2006 version of My Favorite Things, in no particular order.

  • My Favorite Calendar

    This one goes hands down to Google Calendar. I love all of the different color-coded calendars you can add, the sharing, and the Gmail integration. I also use the Google Desktop Gadget and have it integrated into my Google Personalized Home. There’s even talks that you can sync it with your Linux calendar. Runner up: 30 Boxes. Last Year’s Favorite: CalendarHub.

  • My Favorite E-Mail

    Another clear-cut winner: Gmail. I have 2798 MB of space and counting. (I probably won’t have this category next year since Gmail’s always going to win.) Last Year’s Favorite: Gmail.

  • My Favorite To-Do List

    My favorite in this category and to round out my Outlook replacement is a fairly recent discovery I have made: Remember The Milk. Yeah, I had heard of it a long time ago, but I just started using it a few weeks ago and I love it. I also have this integrated into my Google Personalized Home and my Google Calendar which is super-handy. Runner Up: Backpack. Last Year’s Favorite: voo2do.

  • My Favorite Bookmarking Service

    This again goes to del.icio.us. There was a reason Yahoo! gave those guys so much money: del.icio.us works, and it works well. And with the Firefox extensions, it works even better. So until Firefox 3’s bookmarking system blows me away, I’m going to keep on keeping on with del.icio.us. Last Year’s Favorite: del.icio.us.

  • My Favorite Search Engine

    It would be rather foolish of me to try to argue that any other search engine’s power beats that of Google’s. However, my favorite search engine, which takes advantage of said power, is still Wink. Wink takes Google and adds a human element to it to make it even better. On the other hand, Wink has started to take a bookmarking/social network-type approach recently which I haven’t really participated in, but I still love it’s search capabilities. Runner Up: Snap. Last Year’s Favorite: Wink.

  • My Favorite Online Storage

    Box.net. One GB free and $4.99/mo. for 5 GB, or five referrals gets you 5 GB (which I only need a couple more of, so click on my link and sign up with me as a referral so I can get my free upgrade, please). It has a very clean AJAX interface, drag-and-drop uploading, easy file sharing, RSS feeds, and on and on and on. The only thing I wish Box.net had that it doesn’t, is a desktop sync. Which is supposedly in the works. It also has Netvibes and Google Personalized Home integration which I use a lot. Last Year’s Favorite: openomy.

  • My Favorite Photo Sharing Site

    Zooomr. It has been called “Flickr on steroids.” And that’s what it is. It has easy uploading, tagging, and geotagging and a ton of storage (at least for a casual photographer like me). It also is very blogger-friendly, giving free pro accounts to anyone who posted a photo to their blog using Zooomr. Runner Up: BubbleShare. Last Year’s Favorite: New Category.

  • My Favorite Feed Reader

    Easily the best in my book is Google Reader. It’s fast, uses AJAX, and works really well. I had been using Bloglines for most of the year until Google updated Reader and now it whips tail. Runner Up: Bloglines. Last Year’s Favorite: None.

  • My Favorite Home Page

    Tie: Netvibes and Google Personalized Home. At home, I use Netvibes. It’s not quite as functional as Google, but it looks nicer and does what I need it to do. Google has better Remember the Milk and Google Calendar integration which is really nice at work. [On Netvibes I use the iCal module to view my Google Calendar (update: There is a Google Calendar Module in the Netvibes ecosystem, but getting it to work how you want is kind of touch and go) and a feed module to see my Remember The Milk lists.] Also, I use an old machine at work and Google works a little bit faster than Netvibes on the slower computer. Runner Up: Pageflakes. Last Year’s Favorite: Netvibes.

  • My Favorite Maps

    This one was a tight race this year. Google added multi-point mapping which made it a strong candidate, but Yahoo! Maps still came out on top. Since last year they’ve added satellite imagery which was their major shortcoming. The flash-based app can be a little slow at times, but I think it’s worth it. Runner Up: Google Maps. Last Year’s Favorite: Yahoo! Maps.

  • My Favorite Blog

    Lifehacker. I wasn’t a Lifehacker fan right off the bat, but now I can’t get enough. They have tons of useful tech (and non-tech) info everyday. Runner Up: Google Blogoscoped. Last Year’s Favorite: TechCrunch.

  • My Favorite Wiki Service

    Wikispaces gave me a free upgrade just for being a teacher. You can’t beat that. It does everything a good wiki needs to do. Last Year’s Favorite: New Category.

  • My Favorite Streaming Music

    Pandora is my hero. Give Pandora your favorite band or song and it will play other music that you’ll usually like based on what you gave it. It uses the Music Genome Project to find its matches. It also has really good sound quality. You can add a bunch of different stations, share playlists, RSS feeds, and more. Last Year’s Favorite: New Category.

There you have it. The list. I need to mention that as always on Free Hogg, everything you see here today is completely free of charge. The only way I like it.

If there’s any other categories you think I should add, let me know. Also, if you disagree with me, I’d love to hear your picks for these categories.

Happy New Year!

Technorati technorati tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. […] It is inspired from A Few of My Favorite Things on the Web 2006 of Hogg. […]

    Pingback by Net 2.0 » Blog Archive » My favorite webby things in 2006 — 12.29.06 @ 3:38 pm

  2. If you think Pandora is cool, you should try Finetune.

    Comment by Brent — 02.15.07 @ 2:15 pm

  3. Check this out http://www.googlepowersearch.com.
    I created GooglePowerSearch so you can power search for Video, News, Maps, Images and more…
    Google Power Search helps to unleash the built in power of Googles special features.
    Using Google Power Search you are able to get better-targeted results.
    Check out Google Power Search and let me know what you think.
    Thanks
    Steve

    Comment by GooglePowerSearch - Steve — 02.21.07 @ 9:47 am

  4. Speaking about “geotagging”: do you know locr?

    locr offers the ideal solution and makes geotagging exceptionally easy. locr uses GoogleMaps with detailed maps and high-resolution satellite images. To geotag your photos just enter address, let locr search, fine-tune the marker, accept position, and done! If you don’t know the exact address simply use drag&drop to set the position.

    For automatic geotagging you need a datalog GPS receiver in additon to your digital camera. The GPS receiver data and the digital camera data is then automatically linked together by the locr software. All information will be written into the EXIF header.

    Use the “Show in Google Earth” button to view your photos in Google Earth.

    With locr you can upload photos with GPS information in them without any further settings. In the standard view, locr shows the photo itself, plus the place it was taken. If you want to know more about the place where the photo was taken, just have at look at the Wikipedia articles which are also automatically assigned to the picture.

    Have a look at http://www.locr.com.

    Comment by Tom — 04.23.07 @ 4:45 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

