Free Hogg

02.24.06

WordPress.com has tags, and I have a bookmarklet.

Filed under: Tagging, WordPress.com — Hogg @ 10:52 am

Update: Matt from WordPress left me a comment informing me of my misunderstanding. The tagging system talked about in this post is the category system that WordPress.com already uses. So ignore the rest of this and just use your categories.

WordPress.com recently announced that they support tags, much like Technorati. So, I took the Technorati Tags bookmarklet and modified it for WordPress.com tags.

Make it the same way as the others:

  1. Copy the code below.
  2. Create a new bookmark on your bookmark toolbar.
  3. Paste the code into the location box.

Now when you finish blogging, hit the bookmarklet, add your tags, and paste the xhtml into your post.

It would be awesome if someone who knew more about JavaScript could combine the Technorati tags bookmarket and the WordPress.com bookmarklet and make the xhtml that it spits out look like what I have below. Let me know if you do.

Here’s the code:

javascript:(function(){var a='';var t=prompt('Enter Tags without commas:','');if(!t) return;var tr=t.split(' ');a+='<p>wordpress.com tags: ';for(var i=0;i<tr.length;i++){if(i > 0){a+=', ';}a+='<a href='+unescape('%22')+'http://www.wordpress.com/tag/'+tr[i]+unescape('%22')+' rel='+unescape('%22')+'tag'+unescape('%22')+'>'+tr[i]+'</a>';}a+='</p>';prompt('Copy this code, press OK, then paste to your blog entry:',a);})()

wordpress.com tags: , , ,

technorati tags: , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. WordPress tags are actually categories, so if you don’t add those tags as categories they don’t get picked up globally.

    Comment by Matt — 02.24.06 @ 12:38 pm

  2. I’m glad that Matt has cleared up the difference between global tags (categories) and other tags. If you want to be listed on WordPress.com tag’s page, they only “grab” categories. This still doesn’t negate the original intention of the tagging bookmarklet I wrote about. There is a whole world of search engines and tagging services that recognize “tags” outside of WordPress.com. They look for anything with a rel="tag" in a link, wherever that link goes.

    You can use the categories as tags on your site, and bet your posts listed by those category/tags in WordPress.com, but that has nothing to do with adding tags within your post or elsewhere. If I used only categories as tags, my sidebar would reach to the moon.

    I think of categories as categories and tags as tags. While it is convenient that categories are tags, I compare categories to table of contents and tags as an index. Both help the reader find content on your site, but they both have different purposes.

    I keep my tags linked as intrasite links, adding to my blog’s navigation, helping the reader find related information on a topic. I rely upon them to find grouped information on categories in my category list, but the tags are set on a per-post basis.

    You can also change the bookmarklet to link the tags to Technorati, WordPress.com tags, or Google. That’s up to you and what kind of help you want to offer your readers.

    Either way, if you would like to add tags on a per post basis, my tagging bookmarklet for WordPress.com users will help. Otherwise, incorporate tags into your links and make your categories be your tags and life will go on as usual.

    Don’t worry, WordPress and WordPress.com gets a ton of attention from search engines and directories like Technorati right out of the box. You don’t have to do much to get the world’s attention by adding more clutter to your blog. Just write content that makes the world beat a path to your door. 😉

    Comment by Lorelle VanFossen — 07.2.06 @ 2:41 pm

  3. I thought I left a comment here a couple days ago, and it might still be in moderation, but I thought I would point out that global tags with categories isn’t the same as tags on a per-post basis, which is what the A Tagging Bookmarklet for WordPress and wordpress.com Users does when you are using WordPress.com and unable to add a WordPress Plugin to add tags for posts.

    I more about this recently if you’re interested.

    Comment by Lorelle VanFossen — 07.3.06 @ 10:17 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.